Jaya changes party nominee for Arupukottai

Chennai: A day after announcing candidates for 227 Assembly constituencies for the May 16 polls, AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa today changed her party nominee for Aruppukottai, fielding sitting MLA Vaigaiselvan.

Jayalalithaa said in a statement that Vaigaiselvan, also a former minister, was being fielded in place of M G Muthuraja whom she had announced as candidate for Aruppukottai while releasing her party’s candidate list yesterday.

She did not assign any reason for the change. Vaigaiselvan, a fine orator, was School Education Minister in the Jayalalithaa cabinet but was removed by her later.