IPL Qualifier 1: CSK to face SRH for final berth

Mumbai: In the first qualifier of the ongoing 11th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), two-time winners Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are all set to lock horns with Sunrisers Hyderabad for a place in the finals at the Wankhede Stadium here on Tuesday.

The two sides have had an excellent IPL campaign this year, with both Sunrisers and CSK winning nine out of 14 games they have played so far.

However, the Kane Williamson-led side eventually got an edge over CSK to finish at the top spot based on the net run rate.

While the winner of the two sides will reach the summit showdown, the losing side will get one more chance to make it to the title clash by playing Qualifier 2 in Kolkata on May 25.

Despite being the first team to book their place in the playoffs with a victory over Delhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad had slumped to defeats in their last three matches.

CSK, who made an impressive return to the IPL following their two-year suspension, made it to the playoffs after Mumbai Indians lost to Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets on May 13.

Heading into the match, the Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led side have a slight edge over Sunrisers Hyderabad as the CSK not only won both games against their southern rivals in the league stage this season but they also have a winning momentum going into the match.

The two teams are as follows:
Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Faf Du Plessis, Harbhajan Singh, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayadu, Deepak Chahar, K M Asif, Kanish Seth, Lungi Ngidi, Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Mark Wood, Kshtiz Sharma, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, N agadeesan, David Willy.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (C ), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddharth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami, Ricky Bhui, Basil Thampi, T Natarajan, Sachin Baby, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan, Tanmay Agarwal, Alex Hales, Carlos Brathwaite, Rashid Khan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Nabi and Chris Jordan.