Intra-state e-way bill to be rolled out in 6 states today

New Delhi: At least six states – Mizoram, Odisha, Punjab, Chhattisgarh, Goa and Jammu and Kashmir will roll out the e-way bill system for the intra-state movement of goods on Friday.

As per the decision of the Goods and Service Tax (GST) Council, the e-way bill has been rolled out from April 1.

As on May 30, the e-way bill system for intra-state movement of goods has been rolled out in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh; along with the Union Territories of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli,
Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep and Puducherry.

The e-way Bills are getting generated successfully and till May 30, more than six crores and 30 lakh e-way bills have been successfully generated which includes more than two crore e-way bills for intra-state movement of goods.

Besides, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal will roll out the same on June 2 and June 3, respectively.

It may be mentioned that the e-way bill system will be implemented throughout the country by June 3.

It has now been two months since the e-way bill system was implemented and the same is working smoothly without any glitches.

On an average, more than 12 lakh e-way bills are being generated every day. Trade and industry may approach their respective tax authority for any guidance in this matter.

Further, it is informed that trade should get well versed with respect to the provisions of the e-way bill rules in order to avoid any difficulty. The provisions of rule 138D of Central / State GST Rules, 2017 may be referred for any grievance redressal. (ANI)