International Women’s Day on March 8—TS Govt to Honour Eminent Women

The Telangana State Government is celebrating the International Women’s Day on March 8.  The Government has constituted a high- level Celebrations Committee under the Chairmanship of Minister for WCD&SC for organizing the celebrations in a befitting manner.         The Celebrations Committee has proposed the following list of eminent Women working in various fields to be honored on the occasion of International Women’s Day.


Education: Dr. Vidyavathi of Warangal- First woman Vice Chancellor (Kakatiya University) in Telangana


Social Service: Smt. Janaki, Hyderabad- Visually Challenged, Running a school for deaf and dumb students. Recipient of Hellen Keller Award. Tirunagari Devakidevi Mahaboobnagar- Active participation in Telangana Movement during 1969 and second phase.       Smt. Gayathri,  Wanaparthy- Herself being a Visually Challenged person working as a Head Mistress at Z.P.H.S,Wanaparthy; and Kurma Laxmi Bai,          Dhaiguda (V) Pippal, Adilabad- Untiring struggle by a kolama woman to get back her land

Agriculture: Duddeda Sugunamma,  Katkoor (V), Janagama- Produced highest yield of produce per acre with innovative farming techniques;    Nagamani,  Dosapahad (V) Penpahad (M) Nalgonda- Role Model for woman farmers.


Telangana Movement: Smt. S. Manemma,  Uppal – Active participation in Telangana Movement; Dhatrika Swapna, Hyderabad- Student of O.U. injured (with bullets) during the Telangana Movement; and             Moola Vijaya Reddy, Peddapalli- Active participation in Telangana Movement.

Professional Services: Prameela, Mancheryala- An eminent Lawyer and also played key role in Telangana Movement.

Literature: Anisetty Rajitha, Warangal- An eminent writer on woman issues; and      Shajahana, Khammam -An eminent writer on woman issues.

Dance : Dr. Vanaja Uday ,Hyderabad -Contribution to the field of Dance since 25 years. Head of the Department, Telugu University.

Painting: Smt. Anjani Reddy, Zaheerabad – An eminent painter.


Music: Payal Kotgareekar, Nizamabad- Most talented Tabla player.


Songs in Telangana Movement: Chaitanya, Nalgonda and         Swarna, Karimnagar – Widespread the spirit of Telangana Movement through songs.


Sports: Priyadarshini, Warangal- Won Gold Medal in Weight Lifting in Commonwealth Games.


Journalism: Madapati Satyavathi, Hyderabad – First News Reader in Radio; Katta Kavitha, Chittyala, Nalgonda- An eminent Journalist and writer in Print Media; and             G. Malliswari, Warangal- First Video Journalist.


Cashless Transaction Service (100% cashless villages):  M. Padma, Sarpanch – Gollapalli, Timmapur (M), Karimnagar and Kumbhala Lakshmi, Sarpanch, Ibrahimnagar, Siddipet.- Strived for 100% cashless transactions in the village as Sarpanch.


After careful consideration, Government has approved the above list of awardees and it is decided to honour them with a cash Award of Rs.1.00 Lakh each along with citation.(NSS)