Intelligence Bureau, CBI among 32 Government Organisations Yet To Digitise Work

New Delhi : Central police organisations like IB, CBI and NIA are among 32 government entities which are yet to implement e-office project.

Besides them, eight paramilitary forces including Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) and National Security Guard (NSG) are also among the organisations which have not yet implemented the project aimed at digitisation of their work.

A presentation on the status of implementation of e-office project was made by the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG) at a conference on e-governance on Thursday. The event was attended by Minister of State in Prime Minister’s Office Jitendra Singh, senior bureaucrats and 172 newly inducted IAS officers where details of status of e-governance or computerisation of offices under all ministries were given.

The e-office project is one of the Mission Mode Projects under the National e-Governance Plan. The project is being implemented by the Department of Administrative Reform and Public Grievances of India (DARPG) to improve efficiency in government processes and service delivery mechanisms.

Among the 32 government organisations which are yet to implement e-office are eight central police organisations- Intelligence Bureau (IB), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), National Investigation Agency (NIA), Bureau of Police Research & Development, National Crime Records Bureau, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy, Hyderabad, North Eastern Police Academy, Shillong, and National Institute of Criminology & Forensic Science.

Seven central armed police forces, CISF, NSG, Assam Rifles, Border Security Force (BSF), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) have also not implemented the e-office, as per the presentation.

Ministries of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Corporate Affairs, AYUSH and newly created Skill Development and Entrepreneurship have also not operationalised e-office, it said. The departments of Defence, Defence Research & Development, Ex-Servicemen Welfare, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP), Department of Posts and Legislative Department have also not implemented the e-office, according to the presentation.

India Meteorological Department (IMD), Department of Space, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Department of Agricultural Research and Education, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Biotechnology and Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities are also yet to implement it.

The presentation was based on the data received from National Informatics Centre (NIC), which provides information technology support to central government departments.

Cabinet Secretary Pradeep Kumar Sinha has directed a fortnightly progress report on the implementation of e-office in all ministries and departments.

The ministries of Health & Family Welfare, Women and Child Development, Legal Affairs, Rural Development, Civil Aviation, Panchayati Raj, and Drinking Water and Sanitation are “having maximum usage of e-office”.

The ministries of External Affairs, Tourism, Environment, Forest and Climate Change, and Department of Revenue are among 14 such government organisations who are “showing no significant progress in e-office”, the presentation said.