India’s diversity makes it unique, says former CEC at GU convocation

New Delhi, Nov 28 : Former Chief Election Commissioner of India, Dr S.Y. Quraishi, on Friday said, “India is a festival of youth and democracy, whose size and diversity creates unique challenges, but that is what makes the country unique.”

At a time when the nation was celebrating the Constitution Day, Dr Quraishi reminded the young audience of the vision of the founding fathers. While delivering the convocation address at the first Convocation of G.D. Goenka University, he said, “They ensured that women had voting rights from Day One as against USA which took 140 years to give voting rights to women and England which took almost 100 years to do so.”

The former Chief Election Commissioner also spoke of the size of India’s electorate, stating that India has more voters than the voting population of all countries in Europe. He added “When you compare this with Africa you realise that India has 200 million more voters than the voting population of all the countries of North and South America. Even Africa has less voters than India.”

The large voter base, its spread and diversity brings in its own unique challenges. He recalled how he had to set up an election booth for a single voter living deep in Madhya Pradesh forests. “There were six polling personnel, and one voter.”

The Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof (Dr) Raj Singh, while delivering the VC’s address at the glittering ceremony, pointed out the significant strides the University has made in less than three years of its existence. “The University, even before it had completed its first year, sought recognition from the University Grants Commission. It received this recognition too, becoming one of the youngest universities to achieve this honour.”

The ceremony began with a solemn procession led by the Pipers of the 7Th Assam Regiment. The procession included among others the Vice Chairperson of the Group, Mrs. Renu Goenka, the Managing Director of the Group, Mr. Nipun Goenka, members of the Governing and Academic Councils, Deans, University officials and Faculty members. (ANI)