India announces 12-man squad for 1st ODI against Windies

Guwahati: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a 12-man shortlist team for the first One Day International (ODI) against West Indies beginning here at the Assam Cricket Association (ACA) Stadium on Sunday.

The 12 players present in the list are – Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Syed Khaleel Ahmed.

Pant could make his ODI debut for India, following his stellar batting performances in the just-concluded Test series against the Caribbean side. He scored 184 runs in two innings at an average of 92 in the longest format, missing out on centuries in the two Test matches at Rajkot and Hyderabad.

However, the swashbuckling batsman will be looking to hone up his keeping skills, after a slew of dropped catches and misfields in the Test series.

Opener KL Rahul and experienced wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik did not found their places in the 12-man squad. Also, Hardik Pandya found no mention in the list as he is recovering from a back injury sustained during Asia Cup tournament last month.

The Men in Blue had thumped the West Indies comprehensively in the Test series, winning 2-0 and would be looking to continue its momentum in the limited overs format. The two teams will play five ODIs, with the first game commencing from October 21, in Guwahati, followed by three Twenty-20 Internationals (T20Is).