Ind vs Eng, 1st ODI: Visitors win toss, opt to field first

Pune: England skipper Eoin Morgan won the toss and opted to bowl first against India in the first ODI of the three-match series here on Tuesday.

Krunal Pandya and Prasidh Krishna will be making their ODI debuts in the game while KL Rahul will be keeping wickets ahead of Rishabh Pant.

At the toss, India skipper Virat Kohli said: “Very happy to bat first, we had different plans. Weather is going to drastically change in the evening. It’s a great opportunity for us to put runs on the board. The last game we played here against England is a great memory. If we believe we are a top side we should be ready to do anything, whether we decide or asked to do something. KL will bat at 5 and keep. Top four are Rohit, Shikhar, myself and Shreyas. Hardik bats at 6, Krunal at 7. Shardul 8, Bhuvi at 9, Prasidh and Kuldeep complete.”

After winning both the Test and the T20I series, India is all set for the final challenge against England in the three-match ODI series which is a part of the ODI Super League.

While India completely outplayed England in the Tests, the T20I series had a good ebb and flow to it. The series went to the decider, which the hosts clinched by 36 runs.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), KL Rahul(w), Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna.

England Playing XI: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan(c), Jos Buttler(w), Ben Stokes, Sam Billings, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.