Hyderabad ODI: India to bowl first against Aussies

Hyderabad: Australia won the toss and asked India to bowl first in the first ODI of the ongoing five-match ODI series here at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Saturday.

Following the toss, Indian skipper Virat Kohli said he was looking to bowl first, considering the pitch conditions.

Talking about the team combinations, Kohli informed that Ambati Rayudu, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Rohit Sharma and Kedhar Jadhav make their way back into the ODI team.

“We would have bowled first. Chasing has been our strength. The groundsmen say the ball comes to the bat better under lights. Just continue what we did in New Zealand and Australia in the ODIs. That’s exactly what we need to do. I feel we are pretty balanced as a squad. We are playing Jadeja and Kuldeep. Two fast bowlers, Vijay Shankar,
and that gives us depth in the batting,” Kohli said.

Australian captain Aaron Finch, on the other hand, made two changes in the team from the second T20I.

“It does look quite dry, hopefully, we can post a decent score. Just look to keep improving every time, and we are making progress in each game. From the last T20, Alex Carey comes in to keep,” Finch said.

Having lost the T20 series, India would look to change their fortunes in the ODI format and develop a winning momentum.

Following are the Indian and Australian playing XI:

India- Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Ambati Rayudu, Kedhar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.

Australia- Aaron Finch (c), Usman Khawaja, Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carrey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa.