Hyderabad: Congress workers stage protest against ticket distribution

Hyderabad (Telangana): With the Telangana Assembly elections just a month away, many Congress party workers are not satisfied with the way the tickets are being distributed.

The disgruntled leaders and their supporters staged a protest at the Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) headquarters–Gandhi Bhawan–here, climbing up trees and urging the party high command to give tickets for their leaders who have worked hard for the party’s progress. They are also demanding to give tickets to the parachute candidates.

Some Congress leaders and party workers from ‘Vaderula’ community have been agitating in front of the party’s office for the last a few days, demanding the ticket for Jai Ramulu from Patancheru constituency.

There are a few other Congress leaders from Malkajgiri constituency, who have been on a hunger strike for the last three days demanding the ticket for Sridhar. Faced with increasing pressure, the Congress has deferred the announcement of the list of candidates for the ensuing polls.

Till now, the Congress has announced 74 candidates.

The Congress has allotted 14 seats to Telugu Desam Party (TDP), eight to Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and three to Communist Party of India (CPI). The final candidates’ list for 119 constituencies with alliance partners will be announced in next few days.

Gudur Narayan, TPCC spokesperson, said: “From one seat, only one person will get the ticket. Ability to win the election is the only criteria for giving tickets. In some cases, the party has to give seats to the alliance partners. As a result, some leaders are agitations. Many of them were called to Delhi and were counselled not to accept the party decision.”

“However, each and every competent leader will get some responsibility once the government is formed. It is very sad that some people, who have really worked hard, have been deprived of a chance to contest the polls. These leaders will be taken care of in a big way,” he said.
The election to the 119-member assembly of Telangana is scheduled to be held on December 7. The counting of votes will take place on December 11.