Horrifying videos: Communal clash grips 12 district of West Bengal, curfew imposed

Kolkata: Multiple communal clashes across West Bengal during Muharram and Durga puja and its immersion processions were reported.

Tension continues in several districts of West Bengal over the past two days, leading the administration to imposed section 144 CrPC in the area.

More than 50 people have been injured and over 100 shops and dozens of homes were destroyed in the fire.

The situation has caused panic in the area and about 500 Muslim left their homes or are forced to take refuge in Calcutta.

In Naihati, people sustained injuries during a Muharram procession in what locals said was the explosion of a crude bomb being hurled.

The situation continues to be serious and the entire town remained tense.

Interestingly, Anuj Sharma, Additional Director General of West Bengal Police (Law and Order), described the situation as “minor incidents” as such incidents occur every year and returns to normal

“Everything is under control and there is nothing to worry about,” Sharma told Gulf News.

According to The Hindu reports, disturbances at Chandannagar in Hooghly district and Naihati in North 24 Parganas were reported on Wednesday, prohibitory orders were issued in the industrial town of Kharagpur on Thursday.

Additional security forces were deployed in sensitive areas to maintain law and order and to supervised the localities, an official said.

The following are the districts of West Bengal, where communal disturbances were reported:

Andul Argori village under Sankrail PS in Howrah dist.
Ballabhpara Ghat Hatkhola, Katwa PS. Bardhaman dist
Chandannagar Urdibazar and Telenipara, Hogghly dist.
Hajinagar, near Naihati, North 24 Parganas dist.
Kalaberia vill. Bhagabanpur PS. Poorba Medinipur dist.
Manikpur Beltala, Sankrail PS., Howrah dist.
Khargapur Golbazar market. Paschim Medinipur dist.
Kharba village, Chanchal PS. Malda dist.
Rishipara, just behind Kaliachak PS.,Malda dist.
Aarapur village under English Bazar PS in Malda dist.
Rajua village under Ketugram PS in Bardhaman distTaltali village, Jalangi PS (Police Station). Murshidabad dist.