Honda riders finish with 8 medals in Round 2 of National C’ship

Chennai [India]:Honda riders put in brilliant performance to score highest ever number of podiums as the second round of the National Motorcycle Racing Championship came to an end here last evening.

With five podiums in Day two, Honda have taken its total tally to eight podiums in the Round 2.

Honda riders take top two spots in 165cc Super Sports (Race 2) and top three in 165cc Pro stock (Race 2).

Honda rider Rajiv Sethu (Participant ARRC 2017 and Pro-stock Champion 2016) won the Round 2 of Super Sports 165cc National Championship after an intense race. Showcasing his stellar riding skills, 22-year-old Rajiv, one of the fastest growing Indian rider, clocked 18:11:528 minutes over 9 blistering laps. Team mate Mathana Kumar S, secured second position by clocking 18:15:594 minutes.

Adding more cheer to the celebration, Mithun Kumar P K secured first position in the final race of Round 2, Pro-stock 165cc National Championship. Close behind Mithun, who clocked 18:55:557 minutes, was Kolkata boy Anish D Shetty, who secured second position at 19:06:148 minutes. B Aravind took the third place at 19:06:610 minutes.

Dominating the race from the start, Hari Krishnan took the first place in Race 1 and B Aravind with a stellar performance went up four ranks from seven to take second place.

Despite a crash in lap 2, Rajiv displayed stunning performance and managed to secure third place.

In a thrilling finish, racing stalwart Rajiv Sethu, grabbed first position in second race of CBR 250R category. Rajiv clocked 18:40:822 minutes while team mates Anish Shetty (2nd) and B Aravind (3rd) finished close with 18:59:675 minutes and 19:00:290 minutes respectively.

Satya Narayan, who clocked 13:28:437 minutes, grabbed first place in Race two of CBR150 Novice category. The race was an incredibly close battle between Vyshak Sobhan and Amala Jerald. Clocking an overall timing of 13:37:280 minutes, Amala Gerald secured second position while Vysakh Sobhan took the third place at 13:29:072 minutes.

Congratulating the winners, Prabhu Nagaraj, Vice President, Customer Service, Honda Motorcycle and Scooter India Pvt. Ltd.

(HMSI), said, “I am very happy with the phenomenal performance of our riders. Rajiv has done exceptionally well in the Super Sports category. The international exposure at Asia Road Racing Championship is giving him a clear edge in his performance in the national platform. We are confident of seeing such stellar performance in the next round as well.”

The next round of National Championship is scheduled for first week of August at Madras Motor Racing Track, Chennai.(ANI)