Haryana govt bans 15-yr-old petrol, 10-yr-old diesel vehicles in NCR

Gurgaon: The Haryana government today banned 15-year-old petrol and 10-year-old diesel vehicles from roads within NCR limits.

This will apply to vehicles registered in cities falling under the territorial jurisdiction of National Capital Region (NCR) such as Gurgaon, Faridabad, Sonepat and Jhajjar which cause significant air pollution, said state Transport Minister Krishan Lal Panwar.

“I have issued the order and directed the authorities concerned for effective implementation of it, banning 10-year-old diesel and 15-year-old petrol vehicles in these four cities,” said the minister, adding that the state government wants to curb air pollution in such a way that it does not affect the national capital.

Gurgaon, Faridabad, Sonepat and Jhajjar cities have over 20 lakh registered vehicles.

According to the latest World Health Organisation (WHO) reports, Delhi occupies the 11th position on the list of most polluted cities in the world.

The situation is particularly bad in NCR where recent pollution levels have been reported to be much higher than the acceptable limits on most days of the year, sometimes as high as 35 times the normal level.