Hampshire Test: India look to level series against England

London: After registering a comprehensive victory in Nottingham, India will look to continue their winning momentum when they take on England in the fourth Test of the ongoing five-match series here at The Ageas Bowl Cricket Ground on Thursday.

After losing the first two Tests, the Virat Kohli-led side bounced back strongly to clinch a thumping 203-run win over the Englishmen in the must-win third clash.
With a green-top laid for the penultimate Test, the pacers are likely to play a crucial role in deciding the fate of the match. However, the match-winning performance by the Indian bowlers in the last Test will definitely boost up the confidence of the visiting side.

Talking about the batting department, there are very few chances of India making any changes as both the top order and middle-order batsmen complemented each other well in the Nottingham Test.

Previously, it has happened only once that a team has made a comeback in the five-match series after trailing it 1-2. Thus, for Indians to be able to do the same will be nothing less than a great achievement.

As far as England team’s combination is concerned, they have included batting all-rounder Moeen Ali and left-hand batsman Sam Curran in their squad for the fourth Test. The duo will be replacing Ollie Pope and Chris Woakes in the team, ESPNcricinfo reported.

Meanwhile, right-hand batsman Jos Buttler will take over the wicket-keeping duties from the injured Chris Woakes, who will be playing as a specialist batsman in the team.

The full squads are as follows:
India- Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.

England- Joe Root (c), Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Oliver Pope, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Sam Curran, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Chris Woakes, Ben Stokes, James Vince.