Goa CM Sawant allots portfolios to cabinet colleagues

anaji (Goa): Newly sworn-in Goa Chief Minister PraPmod Sawant on Friday allocated portfolios to his cabinet colleagues.

Sawant will hold the additional charge of Home, Finance, Personnel, Vigilance and General administration in the state.

Sawant mostly retained the portfolios held by his predecessor late Manohar Parrikar and his ministers, according to an official notification issued.

Goa Deputy Chief Minister Sudin Dhavalikar will take care of Public Works, River Navigation, Museum and Transport ministries, while another Deputy Chief Minister Vijay Sardesai will handle ministries of Town and Country Planning, Agriculture, Archives, Archaeology and Factories and Boilers.

Vishwajit Rane, who served as health minister in Parrikar’s cabinet, has retained his Health ministry. He will also be in charge of Women and Child Development, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Here are the portfolios allotted to other ministers in Goa:

Manohar Azgaonkar – Tourism, Sports and Printing and Stationary
Rohan Khaunte – Revenue, Information Technology, and Labour and Employment
Govind Gawde – Art and Culture, Tribal Welfare, Civil Supplies, and Consumer Affairs
Vinod Paliencar – Water Resources, Fisheries, Legal Metrology
Jayesh Sagaonkar – Housing with Housing Board, Rural Development Agency, Ports
Mauvin Godinho – Panchayat, Protocol, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Services
Milind Naik – Urban Development, Social Welfare, Provedoria
Nilesh Cabral – Power, Non-conventional Energy, Law, and Judiciary, Legislative Affairs
Meanwhile, Sawant and other BJP leaders including Vinay Tendulkar, Satish Dhond and Sanjiv Desai met Prime Minister Narendra Modi at his residence in New Delhi. Sawant also met Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman.

On Wednesday, Sawant won the floor test in the state Assembly after 20 MLAs including 11 from BJP and three each from Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), Goa Forward Party (GFP) and Independents voted in his favour.

Sawant had taken the oath as the Chief Minister in the wee hours of Tuesday following Parrikar’s demise on March 17 after a prolonged battle against cancer.

Along with Sawant, 11 other members of Goa Assembly including Sudhin Dhavalikar of the MGP, Vijay Sardesai of the GFP and BJP MLA Vishwajit Rane, were sworn-in as ministers in the new Cabinet.
Sawant said that his first priority will be effective administration and taking forward the dreams of Parrikar.