Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade named captains in BBL

Melbourne: Australian cricketers Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Wade on Wednesday were named as the captains of Melbourne Stars and Hobart Hurricanes respectively ahead of the upcoming eighth edition of the Big Bash League (BBL).

An in-form Maxwell, who hammered his second T20I ton last summer, told Cricket Australia, “It’s an honour to be named the captain of the Melbourne Stars and I’m looking forward to working with (head coach) Stephen Fleming on what is set to be another big season.”

“We have got a talented list which includes new signings so it is going to be important for us to come together this week and get to know each other more both on and off the field,” he added.

Meanwhile, Wade, who has replaced George Bailey to take the reign of Hobart, said: “I’m really proud to become the captain of such a great group. As I said with the Tigers Shield captaincy, I’m more than happy to step into the role because George thought it was the best move for himself and the team.”

“As we have seen over the past fortnight with the Tigers, George being able to focus fully on his batting has been great for us and I’m sure that will transfer into purple,” he added.
The Big Bash League is slated to be held from December 19 to February 17.