Ghalib awards 2018: names announced

New Delhi: A key meeting of Ghalib Institute Award Committee was held at Aiwan-e-Ghalib under the chairmanship of Justice Aftab Alam. Secretary Ghalib Institute professor Siddiqur Rahman Khidwai, Dr Athar Farooqui and Director Ghalib Institute Dr Raza Hyder were present in the meeting

On the occasion, Ghalib Institute decided names for prestigious Ghalib Awards 2018. 6 awards were announced.

Former professor Ranchi University Prof. S Akhtar was selected for Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Urdu Research and criticism award. Noted Persian scholar and former vice chancellor of Mazhar ul Haque Arabic and Persian University professor Sharf-e-Aalam was selected for Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Ghalib award for Persian research and criticism. Noted creative writer professor Husainul Haq was selected for Ghalib award for Urdu prose. Internationally renowned poet Javed Akhtar was selected for Ghalib Award for Urdu poetry. Famous drama writer professor Danish Iqbal was unanimously selected for Ghalib award for Urdu drama. Vice Chancellor Maulana Azad University, Jodhpur, Professor Akhtarul Wasey has been selected for his overall contribution to the Urdu language.

All these awards will be presented in the inaugural session of International Ghalib Celebrations on 21st December 2018. The awards comprise of a citation, memento and Rs 75000. Ghalib Institute has bestowed more than 200 awards during the past 40 years.