Ganja smuggling through APSRTC bus, 8 held

The Commissioner’s Task Force, East Zone Team, in a joint operation with Afzalgunj Police, on Tuesday apprehended eight persons and seized two bags containing 12 kg Ganja, Rs 10,000 and five Cell phones near CBS Bus Depot, Traffic Control room, Gowliguda, Afzalgunj.


The accused were identified as Islavath Bujji, Tejavath Shanker, Sakilal, Banoth Kashya, K. Vasu, Chandaka Appa Rao (RTC bus driver), Nala Shanker Singh and Vikas Singh.

According to the police, Islavath Bujji, since a few years was regularly procuring Ganja from the Agency areas of Vizag, East Godavari and Malkangiri Dist of Orissa and supplying the same to various local Ganja dealers of Mangalhat and other parts of the State. Bujji along with other accused Tejavath Shankar, Sakilal, and Banoth Kashya, who are her close relatives and natives of Khammam district used to bring Ganja from the Agency areas and transport the same by APSRTC bus by paying Rs 5000 to Rs 10,000 to RTC Bus driver Appa Rao for each trip. In Hyderabad, Bujji supplied ganja to her contacts in Hyderabad at handsome price.

Three days back, Bujji and her accomplices went to Marrigudem of East Godavari District and Malkangiri of Odisha and procured 12 Kg of Ganja from Vasu, Raghuram, Pottanna and Gopi. On October 3, they boarded APSRTC Bus at Marrigudem with the consent of Appa Rao (Bus Driver) and gave him Rs 5,000 for transporting the Ganja in RTC Bus. On Tuesday morning hours, they got down at CBS and contacted others to collect Ganja from Bujji. In the mean time, the police rushed to the spot and nabbed them and seized two bags containing 12 Kg Ganja, cash of Rs 10,000 and five Cell phones from their possession.

The arrests were made under the supervision of  N.Koti Reddy, Addl. Dy.Commissioner of Police, Commissioner’s Task Force, Hyderabad, by  CH.Sridhar, Inspector of Police, Commr’s Task Force, East Zone Team, Hyd,  C.Anjaiah, Inspector of Police, Afzalgunj PS, and SI’s K.Srinivas, A.Sudhakar, S.Saida Babu along with the staff of the Commissioner’s Task Force, East Zone Team, and Afzalgunj Police of Hyderabad City. (NSS)