Four Nations hockey final: Belgium beat India in penalty shootout

Hamilton [New Zealand]: India suffered a heartbreak 0-3 loss to Belgium in the penalty shootout after holding the world No. 3 to 4-4 draw in the final of the Four Nations Invitational Tournament at the Gallagher Hockey Stadium on Sunday.

It was Felix Denayer, Sebastien Dockier and Arthur van Doren who scored for Belgium in the shootout.

For India, Ramandeep Singh (29′, 53′), Nilakanta Sharma (42′) and Mandeep Singh (49′) were the goal scorers in regulation time.

India won two back-to-back penalty corners (PC) at the start of the second quarter but couldn’t make much of it.

However, the Men in Blue grabbed the 1-0 lead, through Mandeep Singh.

The action intensified in the third quarter with Belgium upping their attack, winning an equaliser in the 41st minute through Tanguy Cosyns’s well-executed PC.

Moments later, India’s Nilakanta Sharma netted a goal to make the score 2-1 the 42nd minute, which was equalised in the following minute with the help of Cedric Charlier.

India won back their lead twice in the fourth quarter when Mandeep scored in the 49th minute followed by a sensational goal by Ramandeep Singh in the 53rd minute respectively.

But Belgium stayed in the hunt, snatching India’s lead through Amaury Keusters (51′) and Felix Denayer (56′) ensuring the match went into a penalty shootout. (ANI)