Five BJP MLAs suspended from Telangana Assembly

Hyderabad : Five Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs were on Sunday suspended from the Telangana Assembly for creating ruckus over a bill aimed at increasing separate quota for the Muslims in government jobs.

The members included BJP floor leader G. Kishan Reddy and K. Laxman, Raja Singh, NVSS Prabhakar and Chintala Ramachandra Reddy.

The MLAs were seen protesting in the well of the house despite repeated requests by Assembly Speaker. to refrain from doing so.

Expressing anger over the same, one of the suspended leaders K. Laxman said they will expose the government’s real face.

“We will expose the real face of the government. When we raised the question asking why the government is silent on physically challenged and disabled people, they suspended us. We will go between the people, fight and teach the government a lesson,” Laxman told ANI.

Kishan Reddy on his part alleged that the Telangana Government was playing vote bank politics.

“The Chief Minister is feeling insecure after the big BJP win in Uttar Pradesh,” he said.

The Telangana Assembly earlier today convened a special session to consider the bill seeking to provide 12 percent reservation for Muslims in educational institutions and government jobs.

Earlier in March, Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao had said that the state assembly would pass two legislations during the ongoing Budget Session to enhance reservation for the Scheduled Tribes and Muslims.

Rao asserted that two bills would be tabled and passed during the ongoing session, adding that he would then lead an all-party delegation to New Delhi to urge the Centre to include the legislations in the Constitution’s 9th Schedule as was done in the case of Tamil Nadu.

Rao assured the house that the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Government would fulfil their commitment to enhance quota to Muslims and STs to 12 percent each. (ANI)