Five additional judges of Karnataka HC given extension

Bengaluru :Five additional judges of the Karnataka High Court were today granted extension from four months to six months.

The extensions were granted as the Supreme Court collegium has decided against recommending fresh appointments till a new memorandum of procedure (MoP), a document which guides appointment of members to the higher judiciary, is finalised.

Usually, additional judges are appointed for two years and later elevated as permanent judges.

Seeking to overcome the shortage of judges in high courts, government had sought approval from the Supreme Court to extend the terms of judges from three to six months when the validity of the National Judicial Appointments Act was being heard in the apex court. The law was struck down on October 16 last.

Though the collegium system, which the new law had sought to overturn, is back, the apex court collegium has indicated that no new fresh appointments will be recommended till the new MoP is finalised.

Government is finalising the MoP which will be approved by the SC collegium headed by the Chief Justice of India.
A Law Ministry statement said Arakalagudu Venkataramaiah Chandrashekara has been granted extension as an Additional Judge with effect from January 24 till May 29.

Similarly, Pradeep Dattatraya Waingankar will be an Additional Judge with effect from January 24 till April 9.
Rathnakala, Budihal Rudrappa Bhimappa and Koratagere Narasimha Murthy Phaneendra will be Additional Judges for six months with effect from January 24.