Finch to lead Australia’s T20 side for Pak series

Melbourne: Right-hand batsman Aaron Finch has been appointed as the captain of the Australian T20 team for the upcoming three-match series against Pakistan.

The national cricket management has decided that Mitchell Marsh and Alex Carey would jointly handle the role of vice-captain.

The decisions were made along with the announcement of the 14-member national squad for the Pakistan T20 series.

Welcoming the same, Australian head coach Justin Langer appreciated the “extremely talented cricketers” who were appointed as captain and vice-captain.

“Firstly, I’d like to acknowledge Aaron, Mitch and Alex on being announced as the new captain and vice-captains of the Australian T20 squad,” quoted Langer, as saying.

“They are outstanding young men and extremely talented cricketers. To be endorsed by their peers, and to then back it up with powerful presentations, just showcased their leadership qualities and vision for Australian cricket,” he added.

While explosive top-order batsman Chris Lynn has made a comeback into the national side after recovering from the shoulder injury, all-rounder Glenn Maxwell also returned to the team after being left out of the Test squad against Pakistan.

Reflecting on Lynn’s comeback, Langer said that he has earned the place after performing well in the domestic circuit.

“Chris Lynn has responded well from his shoulder injury and was professional during his rehabilitation. He’s had an outstanding campaign in the JLT Cup to date and reminded us how explosive and powerful a cricketer he can be,” he said.

Australia are slated to play a three-match T20I series against Pakistan from October 24-28.

Following is the full squad for the Pakistan T20I series:

Aaron Finch (C), Mitch Marsh (VC), Alex Carey (VC), Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Darcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Mitch Starc, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.