Final electoral list on Oct 12: Rajat Kumar

Hyderabad: As per previous schedule, the Election Commission will release the electoral list of voters in Telangana on October 12.

This was stated by Chief Electoral Officer Dr Rajath Kumar. He said the Election Commission will release the fresh list of the electoral list as stated earlier in the State going to polls on December 7. The ECI statement gets importance as per the directive of the High Court to release the electoral list with changes made followed by appeals, additions and deletions.

The CEO said the Information Technology wing has removed photos from the government website of Chief Minister and other Ministers concerned. Related to advertising material, he said the civic bodies have removed all the hoardings, posters, banners and other publicity material. Since the poll code of conduct was being enforced in the State, no significant cases of violation of norms were reported.

The CEO explained that they have updated the electoral list to come up with a special revision of including the new voters from September 25. A total of 33,14,006 names were registered out of which the EC accepted 30,00,872 names and rejected 3,12,335 and 799 are kept pending. Rajat Kumar said the rest of the names will be added to the list which will finally have more than 2.91 crore voters. The CEO said they will transfer the employees working for three years at any place for smooth and speedy governance. However, those employees involved in the process of electioneering have to report by October 17, he added.