Fifth and final phase of Bihar polls on November 5

New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) on Thursday issued notification for the fifth and final phase of assembly elections in Bihar, in which 57 constituencies spread over nine districts, will go to polls on November 5.

The aspirants can file their nomination papers from 11a.m. to 3p.m till October 15, while scrutiny will take place the next day, and candidates can withdraw their paper till October 19.

The election for the final phase will be held in Darbhanga, Madhubani, Saharsa, Supaul, Madhepura, Purnea, Araria, Kishanganj and Katihar districts. Meanwhile, as many as 625 candidates have so far filed their nominations for the third phase of elections to be held on October 28. Today is the last day of filing of nomination paper for this phase.

Polls to the 243-member Bihar Assembly will be held in 5 phases between October 12 and the November 5, while counting will be held on November 8. The term of the current assembly expires on November 29.

However, with the first phase polls less than a week away, the state is witnessing a frantic campaigning by various political parties. Due to strict code of conduct in place, street walls are unusually free from posters and graffitis, which have forced the political parties to adopt new and innovative ways of campaigning. (ANI)