Andhra voters continue to be on Telangana electoral list even after 4 years

Even after 4 years of separation residents of the seven mandals of Telangana state continue to be voters in three Assembly and two Lok Sabha constituencies of Telangana state. it will be a violation of Article 170 of the Constitution which was amended by the 84th and 87th amendments If the transfer of votes is not done.

Marri Shashidhar Reddy, Congress leader in his letter to the Election Commission has said: “The people residing in the seven mandals, which is now in AP, comprised electors in three Assembly constituencies and two Lok Sabha constituencies of Telangana during the 2014 elections.

The transfer of these areas took place right after the elections. Even though they voted for Telangana MLAs and MPs, they are now in Andhra Pradesh. This is an anomaly that needs to be corrected immediately so that elections could be conducted in a proper and fair manner.

As per the constitutional provision, there cannot be (i) any increase in the number of constituencies or (ii) in their extent till after the first census after the year 2026”. The issue has been raised several times in the past in the state Assembly but was brushed aside.

[source_without_link]SIASAT NEWS[/source_without_link]