European T20 league renamed Euro T20 Slam

Dubai [UAE]: The European T20 competition set to take place in Ireland, Scotland, and the Netherlands for the first time later this year has been officially named as ‘Euro T20 Slam’.

The competition which was unveiled earlier in 2019, will consist of six-city based franchises, two from each of the host nations.

“The process was not just about establishing a mere name, but rather giving the tournament an identity which both aligned it with other global domestic leagues, yet made it a distinctive and a vibrant brand,” International Cricket Council (ICC) quoted Warren Deutrom, Chief Executive of Cricket Ireland as saying.

β€œIt was important to us to convey our points of difference that would resonate in local markets – in Ireland, Scotland, and the Netherlands – where cricket is not the dominant sport in town. The touch points of geography, cricket and excitement was our goal, and we hope it will gain the necessary traction with fans,” he added.

Restrictions over the make-up of the respective squads have also been confirmed. Each franchise must have a minimum of nine domestic players and a maximum of seven overseas players in their squads, the ICC reported.

Each team must field a minimum of six domestic players in their respective playing XIs.

The tournament will be played between August 30 to September 22, and a total of 33 matches will be played in the tournament.