England announce ODI squad for Sri Lanka tour

London: England on Wednesday announced a 16-member squad for their upcoming five-match one-day series against Sri Lanka.

While Warwickshire fast bowler Olly Stone got his maiden call in the ODI squad, Yorkshire all-rounder David Willey did not get selected due to a back injury.

Stone will be replacing pacer Liam Plunkett who will miss the first three matches for his wedding.

Ben Stokes and Alex Hales, who were recently charged by the independent Cricket Discipline Commission (CDC) for bringing disrepute to the game of cricket following a brawl incident outside a Bristol nightclub, were also named in the squad.

England and Sri Lanka are slated to play their first ODI on October 10 in Dambulla.
Following are the England squad for the series:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wkt), Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.