Elvis Presley among recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom

Washington: The White House on Saturday announced that seven people including King of Rock and Roll Elvis Presley would receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

On November 16, seven distinguished individuals-Orrin Hatch, Miriam Adelson”>Miriam Adelson, Alan C Page, Roger Staubach, Elvis Presley, Antonin Scalia and George Herman “Babe” Ruth will be awarded the prestigious medal.

The “Can’t Help Falling in Love” singer will receive the medal posthumously for his contribution to American culture. “Elvis fused gospel, country, and rhythm and blues to create a sound all his own, selling more than a billion records. Elvis also served nearly 2 years in the United States Army, humbly accepting the call to serve despite his fame,” stated the White House statement.

A committed doctor, philanthropist, and humanitarian, Miriam Adelson has practiced internal and emergency medicine, studied and specialized in the disease of narcotic addiction, and founded two research centers committed to fighting substance abuse.

Senator Orrin Hatch is one of the longest-serving Senators in American history, having represented Utah for more than 41 years will be presented with the medal.

The President will also honour Justice Alan Page, who is an accomplished jurist, athlete, and philanthropist. After a successful college football career at the University of Notre Dame, he played 15 years in the National Football League with the Minnesota Vikings and Chicago Bears.

The honor will be bestowed upon Late George Herman “Babe” Ruth, Jr. who played for four baseball teams between 1914 and 1935 and set records that remained unbeaten for decades.
“Over 15 legendary seasons, Babe Ruth led the Yankees to 7 American League championships and 4 World Series championships. His legacy has never been eclipsed, and he remains the personification of ‘America’s Pastime,'” the White House said.

Antonin Scalia who was one of the greatest Supreme Court justices in American history will also receive the medal posthumously. Confirmed unanimously in 1986, Justice Scalia authored nearly 900 Supreme Court opinions. Presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest civilian honor of the United States of America.