Elections for 12 MLC seats in Telangana on Dec 27

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced schedule for conduct of elections to fill 12 vacant seats in Telangana State Legislative Council from Local Authorities’ Constituencies (LACs).

They include two seats each from Ranga Reddy, Mahabubnagar and Karimnagar LACs and one seat each from Adilabad, Nizamabad, Medak, Nalgonda, Warangal and Khammam LACs.

According to the ECI, the term of office of one member of Telangana Legislative Council from Adilabad Local Authorities’ Constituency of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council expired on 1st May, 2013 (Before the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh into Andhra Pradesh & Telangana) but election could not be conducted due to non-availability of constituents/elected bodies and electors. Also, the term of office of eight members of the Telangana Legislative Council from eight Local Authorities’ Constituencies expired on 1st May, 2015. The election could not be conducted earlier in time as there were inconsistencies in the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014. The said inconsistencies have been removed now by creating one more seat in each of Karimnagar, Ranga Reddy and Mahabubnagar LACs.

The notification for the elections will be issued on 2nd December and last date for filing nominations would be 9th December. The scrutiny of nominations will be done on 10th December and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures will be 12th December.

Polling will be on 27th December from 8.00 AM to 4.00 PM. The counting of votes will take place on 30th December. (INN)

The Model Code of Conduct will come into force with immediate effect in the districts in which the above Constituencies are comprised. In addition, the ECI instructions relating to defacement of public and private properties would also be applicable. The ECI will issue detailed instructions with regard to applicable provisions of Model Code of Conduct for this election separately. (INN)