EC issues notification for 5 MLC polls

Hyderabad: Election Commission today announced schedule for conducting the much-awaited MLC elections under MLA quota in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh States.

The elections for five MLC posts in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh will be conducted as per decision by the EC. As per the schedule, the Commission will hold elections on March 12 and results will be announced on the same day. Nominations from the candidates will be accepted till February 28.

The EC will conduct scrutiny of the applications on March 1 and withdrawals will be till March 5. The polls are necessitated as the MLCs going to retire soon include Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy, Shabbir Ali, T Santhosh Kumar, Mohammed Salim and Mahamood Ali