EC should disqualify six TRS MLAs also: Shabbir

Leader of the Opposition in the Council Mohammed Ali Shabbir today demanded that six TRS MLAs, who were nominated for “office of profit” like Parliamentary secretaries should also be disqualified.

Welcoming the Election Commission decision to disqualify 20 AAP MLAs holding the office of profit, he said the Election law should also be adapted to Telangana as conditions were almost similar. Though the AP High in May 2015 struck down the TS order appointing six TRS MLAs, they were acting as parliamentary secretaries illegally.
Addressing the media at Gandhi Bhavan along with Reventh Reddy, Shabbir said the six MLAs were enjoying all perks, salaries and also protocol on par with those of cabinet ministers though their appointment has been struck down by the court. He said in 2015, a two-member bench comprising Chief Justice Kalyan Jyoti Sengupta and Justice Sanjay Kumar passed the interim order after hearing the petitions filed by then Congress MP G Sukhender Reddy and then TDP MLA Revanth Reddy challenging the appointments of MLAs — D Vinay Bhaskar, Jalagam Venkat Rao, V Srinivas Goud, G Kishore Kumar, V Satish Kumar and Kova Laxmi as parliamentary secretaries.

Shabbir Ali said the Congress party will proceed legally against the TRS government if it does not take lessons from the AAP case and recover all salaries and perks enjoyed by them. He also demanded removal of 21 chairmen appointed to various corporations on cabinet rank. (NSS)