Drought relief: SC issues notice to Centre, 11 states

New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Wednesday issued notice to the Central Government and 11 states seeking their response on the steps initiated to provide relief to the people affected by drought.

The apex court has issued notice to Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Odisha, Jharkhand, Bihar, Haryana and Gujarat.

Non-profit Swaraj Abhiyan moved the Supreme Court on Monday, seeking relief for the drought affected farmers in 11 states.

Karnataka, Odisha, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand have asked for Rs.20, 000 crore aid from the Central Government. (ANI)