Disappointed over Centre’s approval of only 3 of 6 metro corridors: Kejriwal

New Delhi: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Thursday said people of the city are disappointed with Centre for approving only three of the six metro corridors.

“People of Delhi very disappointed that the Centre has decided to approve only 3 of the 6 corridors. Why is Modi govt so much against the people of Delhi? Why does Modi govt create obstacles in every project? There shud be no politics wid Delhi’s development,” Kejriwal tweeted.

Delhi Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot also expressed his disappointment.

In a statement, he said: “The Union Cabinet has approved three out of six corridors of Delhi Metro’s Phase-IV Project. While I am glad by the decision, I must convey that I am disappointed with the Union Cabinet approving only three corridors.”

He said the Delhi Cabinet had approved all the six corridors comprised in Metro’s Phase-IV Project in December, 2018.

“Even after more than two months of the decision, the Union Cabinet has approved only three corridors without citing any reason. I hope the Cabinet would soon clear the remaining three corridors,” he said.

The Union Cabinet on Thursday gave an “in-principle” approval to three of the six new Delhi Metro corridors under Phase-IV of the network.

The government approved the Tughlakabad-Aerocity (20.20 km), Janakpuri West-R.K. Ashram (28.92 km) and Mukundpur-Maujpur (12.54 km) sections. This will add to the existing 350 km-long Delhi Metro network.

The other three lines which are yet to receive the Cabinet’s nod are Rithala-Bawana, Inderlok-Indraprastha and Lajpat Nagar-Saket G Block.