Differences emerge in Andhra Pradesh Waqf Board, M Saifullah, Ameer Babu resign

Hyderabad: MLA Jaleel Khan was unanimously elected as Andhra Pradesh Waqf Board Chairman. With the election of the chairman, two members submitted their resignation thus creating a new controversy. Differences among minority leaders came to light in connection with the formation of Waqf Board. Former MP K M Saifullah and Ameer Babu submitted their resignations to the chairman.

Interestingly Khaleelullah Khan Sherwani nominated the name of Jaleel Khan for the chairmanship in the board meeting he was seconded by KM Saifullah former MP Anantapur. Other members unanimously elected him as chairman. It must be noted that Jaleel Khan has changed loyalty and joined YSR Congress party leaving TDP. TDP minority leaders are unhappy on making him the Board chairman.

It is said that Ameer Babu of Kadapa was the key contestant for the post of chairman but Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu approved the name of Jaleel Khan, disgruntled over this Ameer Babu resigned from board membership.

Siasat news