Dictatorial rule in State will go: Uttam

Hyderabad: Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) president Capt. N. Uttam Kumar Reddy has accused Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao of smothering democracy in the State.
Uttam Kumar Reddy, along with other senior leaders and workers, was arrested by the police when they tried to conduct ‘Satyagraha’ near the statue of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar at Tank Bund on Monday morning. The leaders were shifted to Goshamahal, Nayaranaguda, Ramgopalpet and Gandhi Nagar police stations and were later released.
Addressing a press conference at Gandhi Bhavan later, Uttam Kumar Reddy said that KCR has completely snatched the freedom of people to express their dissent against the policies and decisions of TRS Government. He said people expected total freedom after formation of Telangana. However, KCR has started treating the new State as his personal fiefdom. He said everyone has a right to express his/her thoughts without any fear or favour. But the Chief Minister is using police force to suppress all voices of dissent against his anti-people decisions. He said shifting of Dharna Chowk from Indira Park was an open violation of Freedom of Speech guaranteed by the Constitution of India. He said never-heard of restrictions on protests were being imposed by the TRS Government which did not existed even during the rule of erstwhile united Andhra Pradesh.
Uttam Kumar Reddy said that the TRS Government has failed to fulfil the promise of constructing over one lakh double bed room houses for weaker sections in Greater Hyderabad. He said foundation stones for 2BHK projects were laid at several places only to mislead people before the GHMC elections. Once the elections were over, the promise was completely forgotten, he said.
The TPCC Chief also condemned KCR for neglecting the implementation of promise of giving jobs to more than one lakh unemployed youth. He said despite completion of nearly three years, TRS Government took no steps to eradicate unemployment. He said that the Congress party would not rest until TRS Government provide promised one lakh jobs to youth on immediate basis. Commenting on KCR’s promise of providing fertilizer subsidy of Rs. 4,000 per acre, he demanded that the State Government implement the decision on immediate basis. He said despite his failure to implement any of major promises made with the people, KCR did not stop the spree of making fake promises. He said even budget figures were manipulated to fabricate projection of growth. He said that the annual budget of Rs. 1.5 lakh crore was fictitious and much far from reality.
Uttam Kumar Reddy said that as against the Congress belief of ‘Rythu Rajyam’, TRS has unleashed a ‘Contractor Rajyam’ in Telangana State. He said that the Congress party would return to power in 2019 General Elections and waive off all crop loans of farming community. He said jobs would be provided to all unemployed youth and in case of any delays, monthly stipend would be given to all unemployed youth.
Leader of Opposition K. Jana Reddy asked as to why KCR was afraid of allowing Congress party to hold peaceful protests. Condemning shifting of Dharna Chowk, he said even TRS would have no place to protest when it will sit in opposition after next elections. He said that the TRS Government could not suppress the people’s voice by arresting Congress leaders and workers and people would retaliate by bringing Congress back to power.
Earlier, the Congress leaders paid floral tributes to Baba Saheb Ambedkar and launched their day-long Satyagraha. However, police swung into action and arrested all the leaders including Uttam Kumar Reddy and other MLAs Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, T. Rammohan Reddy, Vamshi Chand Reddy and SA Sampath Kumar, MLCs Shabbir Ali and Akula Lalitha, Rajya Sabha MP M. A. Khan ex-union ministers Balram Naik and Sarve Satya Narayana, former PCC Presidents V. Hanumantha Rao and Ponnala Lakshmaiah, ex-ministers D. Sridhar Babu, P. Sabitha Indira Reddy, ex-MLAs Danam Nagender, Bhikshapati Yadav, D. Susheer Reddy, M. Shashidhar Reddy, K. Srisailam Goud, T. Jagga Reddy, P. Vishnu Vardhan Reddy, ex-MPs M. Anjan Kumar Yadav and Dr. Mallu Ravi, heads of all frontal organisations and other leaders. (NSS)