Dhinakaran’s AMMK releases first list of candidates for LS elections

Chennai: TTV Dhinakaran-led Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam(AMMK) on Sunday announced the first list of candidates for 24 Lok Sabha seats and nine by-election seats.

Party leader Sarubala Thondaiman will contest from Trichy parliamentary constituency while former speaker K Kalimuthu’s son David Annadurai will contest from Madurai Lok Sabha seat.

Another party leader, P Vetrivel, will fight from Perumbavoor in the impending bypolls.

The legislators who were earlier disqualified have also been nominated to contest from nine constituencies where by-elections will be held.

Lok Sabha elections and assembly bypolls would be held in Tamil Nadu on April 18 in the second phase of the seven-phased elections. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.