Deve Gowda, Digvijaya to attend Shariyat Conference

Several eminent personalities, including former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda and AICC General Secretary Digvijaya Singh will attend the All India Tahafuz-e-Shariyat Conference being held by Tahreek Muslim Shabban at Exhibition Grounds, Nampally on Sunday. The conference is being organised against the proposed introduction of Uniform Civil Code in the country by the BJP-led NDA Government at the Centre.


According to TMS president Mohammed Mushtaq Mallik, the conference is being organised under the supervision of All India Muslim Personal Law Board (AIMPLB) general secretary Moulana Syed Mohammed Wali Rahmani. The other guests from across the country include AIMPLB members Moualna Syed Ather Dehelvi (Bareilly, UP), Moulana Hafez Ahmed Rasheed Chowdhary (Assam) and Naveed Hamed (Muslim Majlis Mushawarat). Trinamool Congress leader and Lok Sabha MP Ahmed Hassan, Moulana Mufti Manzoor Raziayi (Mumbai), Acharya Sri Promod Krishnan (UP), JD(S) General Secretary Kanwar DAnish Ali and ex-president of Aligarh Muslim University Dr. Nazar Abbas will also address the meeting.


Besides Deputy Chief Minister Mohammed Mahmood Ali, Leader of Opposition in Council Mohammed Ali Shabbir, Head of Jamia Nizamia Moulana Syed Ziauddin Naqshbandi, Jamaat-e-Islami-e-Hind president (TS, AP) Moulana Hamed Mohammed Khan, Moulana Syed Shah Asrar Hussain Razvi, TRS MLC Mohammed Fareeduddin and TDP MLC Mohammed Ahmed Shareef will address the meeting. Prominent religious scholars including Moulana Sadeq Mohiuddin Faheem, Moulana Hussamudin Saani Jaffer Pasha, Moulana Mufti Abdul Mogni-Al-Mazahari, Moulana Mufti Hasanuddin, Moulana Mufti Tajammul Hussain Qasmi, Moulana Mufti Ghyaz Rahmani, Moulana Arshad Qashmi, Moulana Mufti Hafez Syed Merajuddin Ali, Moulana Naseeruddin, Moulana Syed Tariq Quadri and ex-MLA Syed Zulfeqar Hashmi are among the other speakers who will address the conference. The conference will begin at 6.30 pm on Sunday at Exhibition Grounds here. (NSS)