I-Day: 3,500 girl students to sing National Anthem

New Delhi: Around 3,500 girl students will sing the national anthem when Prime Minister Narendra Modi will unfurl the national flag from the ramparts of the Red Fort on 70th Independence Day on Monday.

“In total, 3,500 girls from 42 government schools in Delhi will sing the national anthem. They will also sing patriotic songs in different regional languages during the celebrations. On the occasion, these children will display the formation of 70th Independence Day,” said a defence ministry statement.

The Air Force being the coordinating service on the occasion, the Guard of Honour for the Prime Minister will be commanded by Indian Air Force (IAF) Wing Commander K. Srinivasan ahead of unfurling the national flag.

In the Prime Minister’s guard, the Army contingent will be commanded by Major Mahesh Singh Bisht, the Navy contingent by Lt Cdr Aashish Pandey, while Flt Lt Shagun Sareen will lead the Air Force contingent, the statement said.

The Delhi Police contingent will be led by Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Shri Prashant Priya, it said.

According to the statement, the Army contingent for Prime Minister’s Guard is drawn from the 8th Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry (Siachen).

“The unfurling of the tri-colour will synchronise with a 21-Gun Salute fired by the valiant gunners of the elite 2281 Field Regiment (Ceremonial). The ceremonial battery will be commanded by Lt Col Aditya Kumar Devrani, Shaurya Chakra, Sena Medal and the Gun Position Officer will be Sub (Assistant Instructor in Gunnery) Louis Diraviam,” it said.

General Officer Commanding (GOC) Delhi area Lt General Vijay Singh will escort the Prime Minister to the dais to unfurl the national flag.

According to the statement, the national flag guard comprising 32 men and one officer each from Army, Navy, Air Force and Delhi Police will present the Rashtriya salute when the national flag is unfurled.

“IAF Wing Commander Jayapaul James will be in command of the Inter-Services Guard and Police Guard. The Naval Contingent for the National Flag Guard will be commanded by Lt Cdr Shrikant C Joshi, the Army contingent by Maj Anuj Kumar Tomar, Air Force contingent by Sqn Ldr Vinayak Godbole and Delhi Police contingent by Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police M Harshvardhan,” it added.

The band, which will play the national anthem after unfurling the flag, will be commanded by JWO Shyamal Kumar Mitra, musician of No.2 Air Force Band.

Two Air Force Officers, Flt Lt Nishank Awasthi and Flt Lt Abhishek Kashyap will be positioned on either side of the saluting dais for the Prime Minister for ADC duties.

Flt Lt Prabhjot Kaur will assist the Prime Minister in unfurling of the National Flag, it added. The Army Contingent for the National Flag Guard is drawn from the 11th Battalion of the Jat Regiment.

In all, 700 boy cadets of the National Cadet Corps (NCC) drawn from various schools of Delhi Directorate comprising Army, Navy and Air Force wings will participate in the flag hoisting ceremony this year.

“The cadets will take part in the singing of patriotic songs and the national anthem along with other school children,” the statement said.