Cricket South Africa congratulates its ICC winners

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has congratulated AB de Villiers and Faf Du Plessis for winning top accolades in the annual ICC awards.

De Villiers was named ODI Cricketer of the Year for his stellar performances that included the fastest 50, 100 and 150 in the history of the game.

Du Plessis won the ICC award for the T20 International Performance of the Year for his spectacular innings of 119 off 56 balls against the West Indies at the Bidvest Wanderers Stadium.

“Once again our world-class players have performed exceptionally well and this provides great inspiration and pride to our nation,” said CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.

“These awards are richly deserved and on behalf of every cricket loving fan we send our warmest congratulations to both AB and Faf.

“I am sure this recognition will inspire not only them but all our cricketers to deliver more top-class performances. We have a full summer of cricket with the England tour as our highlight in all three forms of the game.

“We also have Australia at the end of the summer and then the excitement of the ICC World T20 to follow. We can certainly look forward to many more top performances from our Proteas.