Congress-JD(S) agree on seat sharing in K’taka by-polls

Bengaluru : Congress and Janata Dal(Secular) reached a consensus on seat sharing arrangements for the upcoming by-elections in three Lok Sabha constituencies in Karnataka, announced Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy on Monday.

Addressing media, Kumaraswamy said: “Ultimately, all Congress senior leaders and our party president came to one conclusion regarding the seat sharing. In the by-election, party leaders have decided that two seats, Shimoga and Mandiya, will be contested by the JD(S) while the Congress will file nomination from Bellary seat. After several rounds of discussion, we reached the decision and we will win all the three seats.”

“Leaders of both the parties will share platforms in public meetings. From today, we will fight the (assembly) elections unitedly,” Kumaraswamy added.

The polls in these three parliamentary constituencies were necessitated after the three legislators resigned following their induction in the Karnataka assembly in May this year.
By-polls for the three Lok Sabha constituencies — Shimoga, Bellary and Mandya will be held on November 3. The counting of votes will take place on November 6.