Congress happy with its seat share in Bihar

New Delhi, Aug, 12 : Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar along with Lalu Yadav and C P Thakur today announced the seat sharing strategy in the coming Bihar elections.

The Congress party despite getting a smaller share said their primary motive remains defeating the ‘communal’ Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

“There may be minor difference on seats sharing, but defeating BJP is our common objective in Bihar,” said Shakeel Ahmed, leader of Congress speaking to ANI.

Bihar Chief Minister said his party, the JDU, and Lalu Prasad Yadav-led RJD will contest on 100 seats each. The Congress will get 40 seats. The consensus on seat-sharing was said to have been developed between three parties “maha gathbandhan” (grand alliance). Bihar Assembly comprises of 243 seats.

Confirming his stand for taking on BJP unitedly with RJD and JDU, Ahmed said his party is happy that there is consensus amongst them for defeating the communal forces in Bihar.

“All the three parties have decided and have taken the call on the seat sharing; the sole objective of this coalition is to defeat the communal forces in Bihar,” said Ahmed.

“In coalition partners can contest on one or two seats more in between them, but it’s good that there is a consensus amongst us in Bihar,” he added.

This seat sharing comes as a major breakthrough for the grand secular alliance formed to take on the BJP, Janata Dal(United)-Rashtriya Janata Dal and Congress for the forthcoming Bihar assembly elections. (ANI)