Congress Expels 6 UP Legislators For Cross Voting In Rajya Sabha Polls

NEW DELHI: Congress today expelled six legislators including one from Amethi who cross voted in the Rajya Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh against party candidate Kapil Sibal last week.

The legislators who have been expelled for six years are Sanjay Pratap Jayaswal (Basti district), Madhuri Verma (Bahraich), Vijay Dube (Kushinagar), Mohammed Muslim (Tiloi-Amethi), Dil Nawaz Khan (Bulandshahar) and Nawab Kasim Ali Khan (Rampur).

AICC General Secretary Janardan Dwivedi announced the decision in the presence of senior leader Ghulam Nabi Azad who was the party’s authorised representative in the Rajya Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh last Saturday.

Mr Sibal edged past Preeti Mahapatra, put up by the BJP in the cliffhanger and secured his Rajya Sabha berth with support from other parties.

With only 25 first preference votes to his credit and his final tally adding up to 34, Mr Sibal fared only marginally better than his colleague Deepak Singh in the Uttar Pradesh legislative council polls on Friday.

Mr Azad, who is now AICC General Secretary in charge of Uttar Pradesh, said while three of the six expelled legislators voted in favour of the BJP, three others sided with BSP.

Mr Azad, who is the Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha, utilised the occasion to target the BJP alleging that the cross voting in Uttar Pradesh and the controversy in Haryana showed that the saffron party went all out to win the polls through “misuse of power”.

Attacking BJP for putting up Ms Mahapatra as an additional candidate when it had as many as 27 less votes, he said this was the first such example he was seeing in his long political career.

Taking a jibe at the Prime Minister, he said while PM Narendra Modi talks of cooperative federalism on the one hand, the ruling party at the Centre uses money power and government influence to win Rajya Sabha elections through unfair means.

Alleging the involvement of government of India in the “big conspiracy” in Rajya Sabha elections in Haryana, he said this portends danger for democracy.