Cong, TDP, Left parties leaders detained in Medak

The police in Medak district detained several Congress, CPI and TDP leaders on the occasion of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to the state.

Former MLAs Marri Shashidhar Reddy, T Jagga Reddy, former MP Suresh Shetkar, Medak Youth Congress leaders Kiran, Mahesh were taken into preventive custody. In Siddipet, the police detained CPM and TDP fearing protests at Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s programs. The police also detained CPM, Congress and TDP leaders in Choutuppal in Nalgonda district.

            The CPM leaders alleged that the arrests were atrocious on the part of the TRS government. They said the Opposition leaders have the right of expressing their protest in a democracy. But the government was trying to curb the rights of the Opposition parties in the State, they said, adding that the Prime Minister was not responding to the attack on Dalits across the nation. (NSS