Commercial fishing banned in Arctic

World: The European Union and Nine other major fishing countries have agreed to ban commercial fishing in melting Arctic Ocean.

Fears of Global warming and consequent climate change have compelled these countries to arrive at this decision. However, the decision to prohibit commercial fishing is temporary.

The decision was taken by five countries which have Arctic Coastline. They include US, Russia, Canada, Denmark and Norway. Other countries which have signed the moratorium are China, Japan, South Korea, Iceland and European Union. The deal was signed for 16 years after which it can be renewed for five more years.

“This is one of the rare times when a group of governments actually solved a problem before it happened,” said David Balton, US ambassador for oceans and fisheries.

Now the Scientists have the opportunity to study the marine ecology of the arctic and study the impact of fishing at high latitudes.