CM, Speaker, Ministers cast their votes in MLC Polls Cong Boycotts

Hyderabad: TRS supremo and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao today cast his vote in the MLC polls held at Assembly premises here. The chief minister reached the Assembly this morning and exercised his franchise at the polling centre in Committee hall one.

As many as 91 MLAs of the TRS have exercised their franchise and seven MIM MLAs also cast their votes during the day. The polling for the five MLC posts under MLA quota was held here. However, the opposition congress party has boycotted the MLC polls in protest against the alleged defections being encouraged by the ruling party. Though TPCC fielded its treasurer Gudur Narayan Reddy for the one MLC seat, he later withdrew from the fray due to lack of 21 MLAs strength required.

The TRS fielded four candidates, Home Minister Mahamood Ali, S Subhash Reddy, Sathyavathi Rathod, Yegge Mallesham and the MIM nominated Mirza Riyaz ul Hasan Effendi for the polls. Both the TRS and its ally MIM are set to win the polls as they have adequate number of MLAs.

Minutes after the polling began at 9 am, TRS MLAs arrived in special buses from Telangana Bhavan. TRS working president and Sircilla MLA KT Rama Rao led the TRS legislators into the Assembly premises. Earlier in the day, the TRS MLAs participated in a mock polling at Telangana Bhavan. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy and a few other MLAs arrived separately in their personal vehicles.