CM finalizes State into seven zones

CM finalizes State into seven zones

Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao has decided to carve out seven zones and two multi- zones as a part of Zonal system in the State.

Announcing this in a review meeting today, the Chief Minister said the Zonal and Multi Zonal system has been formulated to benefit the employees of Telangana and also to see that the earlier injustices in the combined State are not repeated. He said the decision of the government was in tune with providing adequate benefits to those living in their local areas and also against the backdrop of formation of small districts.

Following the formation of Telangana State and subsequent reorganization of districts raising their number to 31, it has become necessary to reorganize the zonal system also, he said, adding that employees and teachers associations, who met the Chief Minister submitted their proposals on the formation of zonal system.

The CM held a high-level review meeting on these proposals at Pragathi Bhavan on Thursday forenoon. The zones and multi zones have been finalized and announced by the Chief Minister. Chief Advisor to Government Rajiv Sharma, Chief Secretary S.K. Joshi, senior officers Ajay Mishra, Narsing Rao, Shiva Shankar, Adhar Sinha, Bhoopal Reddy, Employees’ associations leaders Devi Prasad, Karam Ravinder Reddy, Srinivas Goud, MP Vinod Kumar, MLAs Redya Naik, Aroori Ramesh, Vemula Prashanth Reddy, Prabhakar Reddy, Muthireddy Yadagirireddy, MLC Rajeshwar Rao and others participated in the review meeting.

It was agreed that a meeting will be held on Friday forenoon in the TGO Bhavan to discuss the government’s decision on division of 31 districts in the State into seven zones and two multi-zones. After the meeting, their views will be conveyed to the Chief Secretary based on which a note will be prepared and sent to the government on the formation of Zones.

Later, the Cabinet will meet to consider the proposal and after the Cabinet’s approval, it would be forwarded to the Centre for President’s assent. The Chief Minister said he would personally monitor the entire process and will see that the new zonal and multi zonal system come into effect in Telangana at the earliest.

Following are the zones and multi zones with details of population. The details of Zonal and Multi Zonal districts are:

Zone I Kaleshwaram (28,29,615 Lakh Population): comprises Kumarambheem Asifabad, Mancherial, Peddapalli, Jayashankar Bhupalapally .

Zone II Basara (39,74,829 Lakh) : Adilabad, Nirmal, Nizamabad, Jagtial .

Zone III Rajanna (43,09,866) : Karimnagar, Siddipet, Rajanna Siricilla, Kamareddy, Medak .

Zone IV Bhadradri (50,44,844): Bhadradri Kothagudem, Khammam, Mahabubabad, Warangal Urban, Warangal Rural

Zone V Yadadri (40,23,800 Lakh) : Suryapet, Nalgonda,Yadadri Bhuvanagiri, Jangaon

Zone VI Charminar (1,03,57,289 Lakh) : Medchal-Malkajigiri, Hyderabad, Rangareddy, Sangareddy

Zone VII Jogulamba (44,63,431 lakh): Vikarabad, Mahabubnagar, Jogulamba Gadwal, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool


Kaleswaram, Basara, Rajanna and Bhadradri (1.61 crore pop)

Yadadri, Charminar and Jogulamba (1.88 crore pop) (NSS)