City MLAs not performing as expected: Loksatta

Loksatta Greater Hyderabad general secretary Bonthu Sambi Reddy has alleged that Hyderabad MLAs, irrespective of their party affiliation, were not up to the expectations of the citizens of the State capital.

In a pressnote here on Thursday, Sambi Reddy alleged that the Hyderabad MLAs have miserably failed to pull up the TRS government on Krishna Water Phase-3, encroachment of lands and parks, failure to protect playgrounds, worse condition of school buildings, insanitation, stinking dumping yards, law and order and so on. He also alleged that the Hyderabad MLAs were confined to laying foundation stones and publicity stunts but never concentrated on development of their constituencies.

Reminding the developmental programs taken up by former MLA from Kukatpally Dr Jayaprakash Narayan during 2009-14, Sambi Reddy said the former had spent 100 per cent of his constituency development funds. He said JP spent Rs 8.8 crore even though Rs 5.5 crore were allotted to his constituency. The present MLAs were disrespecting the Assembly while JP tried to enhance the prestige of the Assembly by doing works in greater manner. He said the MLAs get Rs 1.5 crore every year and they are empowered to spend Rs 75 lakh directly.

Sambi Reddy released a list of Hyderabad City BJP MLAs’ developmental activities and expenditure: Amberpet MLA G Kishan Reddy spent Rs 14.55 lakh, Musheerabad MLA Dr K Laxman spent Rs. 37.94 lakh, Khairathabad MLA Chintala Ramachandra Reddy spent nothing; Uppal MLA NVSS Prabhakar spent Rs 74.98 lakh, Goshamahal MLA Raja Singh spent Rs 24.24 lakh.

TRS MLAs: Malkajgiri MLA Kanaka Reddy spent Rs 71.35 lakh, Medchal MLA M Sudheer Reddy spent Rs 72.92 lakh, Deputy Chief Minister Mahamood Ali spent 0, nominated MLA Stephenson spent Rs 6 lakh.

TDP MLAs: Serilingampally MLA Arikepudi Gandhi spent Rs 34.10 lakh, LB Nagar MLA R Krishnaiah spent Rs 73.55 lakh, Jubilee Hills MLA Maganti Gopinath spent Rs 84.50 lakh.

MIM MLAs: Chandrayangutta MLA Akbaruddin Owaisi spent Rs 75 lakh, Charminar MLA Pasha Khadri Rs 25 lakh, Yakutpura MLA Mumtaj Ahmed Khan Rs 70 lakh, Bahadurpura MLA Mohammed Moiz Khan Rs 74.63 lakh.

Sambi Reddy further said Rajendra Nagar MLA Prakash Goud, Kuthbullahpur MLA Vivekananda, Cantonment MLA Sayanna, Malakpet MLA Mohammed Bin Abdul Balala, Nampally MLA Jafer Hussain and Karwan MLA Kousar Moinuddin spent more funds and were striving for the development of their constituencies. He said the Loksatta party wishing them for their hard work for the development of their constituencies.

Describing the MLAs, who defected to other political parties as ‘Jump Jilanis’, Sambi Reddy said Cinematography Minister and Sanathnagar MLA Talasani Srinivas Yadav spent Rs 64.35 lakh, Kukatpally MLA Madhavaram Krishna Rao Rs 75 lakh and Teegala Krishna Reddy Rs 96 lakh.

Sambi Reddy asked the MLAs to strive for the development of their respective constituencies by spending 100 per cent allocated funds. (NSS)