Cicely Tyson, Lalo Schifrin, Marvin Levy to receive honorary Oscars

Washington: The Board of Governors at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences unanimously decided to present honorary Oscars to actor Cicely Tyson, music composer Lalo Schifrin and publicist Marvin Levy.

The Oscars would be awarded to the veterans at the Academy’s 10th annual Governors Awards, which is scheduled to take place on November 18, reported The Hollywood Reporter.

Tyson was nominated for the Oscars as ‘best lead actress’ in ‘Sounder’ in 1973 while Schifrin is a six-time Oscar nominee for films like ‘Cool Hand Luke’ and ‘The Sting II’. Schifrin is well known for the theme music of Tom Cruise’s ‘Mission: Impossible’ series. Levy, is well known for being Steven Spielberg’s longtime publicist.

The board also voted to present the Irving G. Thalberg Award to producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall. Kennedy and Marshall are famous for their association with Spielberg of ‘E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial’ fame.
They were earlier nominated for the Oscars for producing ‘Munich’ and ‘The Curious Case of Benjamin Button’.

Popular in the Community