Check out: Cheque books of these SBI accounts will become invalid from January 1

NEW DELHI: If you are an account holder of SBI then your cheque books will become invalid from December 31.

Earlier, a notification was issued asking the account-holders of SBI’s former associate banks to apply for new SBI Cheque books ‘as soon as possible’.

In October, the country’s largest bank in a tweet said: “The validity of cheques of former associate banks has been extended till 31st December, 2017. Apply now for a new SBI cheque book.”

Those customers with accounts in SBI’s erstwhile associate banks will now have to apply for the new cheque books and IFS codes.

The SBI Associate banks include Bharatiya Mahila Bank, State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Mysore, State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Raipur, State Bank of Travancore, and State Bank of Hyderabad.

If not yet applied then do this to get new cheque books as only a few days are left:

To get a new cheque books, customers can visit the nearest SBI bank branch or use the ATM or SBI’s mobile app.

However, the website address for availing net banking services post-merger will be:

If you were an account holder of SBBJ/SBM/SBT/ SBP/ SBH, you will not have to register afresh. Your login username and login password for the website will remain same.

SBI has also changed names and IFSC codes of nearly 1,300 of its branches.

Post the merger; the country’s largest lender has also changed the branch names, branch codes and IFS codes of its 1300 branches of its 25,000 branches.

These include the branches located in major cities Mumbai, New Delhi, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad, Patna, Lucknow and Bhopal, among others.

Indian Financial System Code, or IFSC, is an 11-digit alpha-numeric code assigned by RBI to identify every bank branch uniquely.
The IFSC code is mandatory to transfer money from one account to another using RTGS, NEFT or IMPS methods.

Most changes with regard to name and IFSC Code have been done in Hyderabad, New Delhi, Bengaluru, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata and Lucknow.