C’garh polls: 10.7% voter turnout recorded till 10 am

C’garh polls: 10.7% voter turnout recorded till 10 am

Raipur: Amid tight security, the first phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly elections in 18 constituencies witnessed 10.7 per cent voter turnout till 10 am on Monday.

Around 53 polling stations out of the total of 4,336 reported delayed start due to technical reasons, however, 100 per cent polling stations have reported smooth polling with long queues outside.

While Rajanandgaon’s Mohala Manpur recorded the highest voter turnout of 18 per cent, Bijapur witnessed the least number of voters at 2.41 per cent.

Meanwhile, three IEDs have been detected near a polling booth in Konta’s Banda where polling is currently underway at a makeshift booth under a tree.

People are voting for 18 seats in the first phase. Of these, 12 are Scheduled Tribe seats while one is a Scheduled Caste-reserved seat.

Out of the 18 seats, 12 of them are located in the sensitive Baster region dominated by the Maoists.

The polling for remaining 72 seats will take place on November 20. The counting of votes will take place on December 11.